Literary Translation Prizes 2015

24 September 2015, 12:00 am

Literary Translation Prizes 2015In the framework of their mission to foster cross-cultural understanding and encourage international cultural exchange, the four cultural institutes continue their joint support of the Literary Translation Prizes and the work of Greek translators. The 2015 Literary Translation Prizes will be awarded to three translators for the best translation into Greek from German, English, and Spanish. Each winner will receive a cash prize.

As part of the ceremony, a panel discussion entitled: “Overcoming the language barrier” will also take place. Speaking at the panel will be translators: Cecile Inglessis Margellos, Leo Kalovyrnas, Yakov Schiby and Dimitris V. Triantafyllidis. The discussion will be moderated by Vassilis Manoussakis, translator and Adjunct Professor, Hellenic American University.

The award ceremony will take place on Wednesday, September 30, 2015, at 19:00, at the Hellenic American Union Theater, on the occasion of International Translation Day.

The shortlist for the 2015 Prize for Literary Translation from English:

  • Maria Angelidou for: The Surrendered by Lee Chang-Rae (Oceanida)
  • Maria Xilouri for: The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet by David Mitchell (Topos)
  • Claire Papamichael for: The Comedians by Graham Greene (Polis)

See the Press Release (280 KB) for all shortlists of the 2015 Literary Translation Prizes.


Katogi Averoff logo